Emerald Editor Discussion
April 23, 2017, 08:56:49 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Overall Design - non-programmer looking for assistance  (Read 5018 times)
Zhrakkan
Official Mascot!
Beta Testers
Gem Cutter

« on: May 16, 2006, 09:12:00 pm »

Greetings all.

I wanted to try to understand a little more as to what is being decided..
Remember, I am not a programmer, and some of the topics are simply put, a little outa my scope.

What are we trying to design EE with?
I have seen Scintilla and a few others....

Can someone take a few seconds to clear up the purpose ect for each application and how it fits in the scope of EE?

I would appreciate it.

Zak

News Manager and Unofficial Mascot
Join the Emerald Editor Project - Message Me!
Emerald Editor - "A Jewel of an Editor"
-----by the way, that name is pronounced "Za-Rack-In"
Arantor
Site Administrator
Administrator
Master Jeweller

« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2006, 10:17:26 pm »

OK, looking at what we have in the source repository and how it all fits together...

Subversion: a storage system for the source of Emerald Editor, which allows us to revisit previous versions of the code and helps prevent edits being done by many people which would ultimately otherwise disintegrate EE.

wxWidgets: a toolkit responsible for building the graphical user interface. Basically, EE calls wxWidgets, wxWidgets calls whatever it appropriate for the operating system, be it Windows, Mac OS X, Linux or whatever. The result is that EE only has 1 set of code and this is applicable for each operating system.