Emerald Editor Discussion
May 24, 2017, 06:59:11 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Crimson Editor SVN263 and Windows 7  (Read 50816 times)
Gryffyn
Prospector

« on: November 17, 2009, 03:38:51 pm »

Greetings!  First, I have to thank everyone who's put their time into Crimson Editor and Emerald Editor.  You really take good editors for granted when you have them and miss them when they don't exist.  Thankfully, Crimson Editor is still viable (thanks to you guys) and Emerald Editor is sounding rather interesting as well.

One issue I'm having with CE under Win7 that seems to cause a couple small issues is that CE triggers the Win7 UAC every time I load it.  After doing some Googling, it sounds like this may be fix by changing something in the install manifest (forgive me, but I'm not a Windows programmer, so not totally fluent in the install intricacies).

That part is a minor annoyance, but I believe it's affecting the ability to drag and drop files into CE.  I think they just get blocked and don't bother triggering any UAC authorization request, so I have to use the Open File icon or File -> Open each time I want to open something.

Recently I was working at home via VPN and mapped a network drive to a remove share on my work network and I couldn't drag and drop and CE wouldn't show the mapped network drive (that's probably another issue to look into, but since I couldn't drag and drop.. I couldn't use CE so that ties back into my original point).

Quick bullet list of the what I'm saying here:

* UAC notice on install

* Inability to drag-drop.. may be related to UAC issue

* For that matter, drag and drop doesn't work in the main part of the window (where you do your editing), you need to drop on the tab bar.  Might be nice to drop anywhere