Emerald Editor Discussion
May 26, 2017, 12:54:33 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Project Management  (Read 3423 times)
KjeBja
Senior Miner

« on: February 02, 2007, 07:51:46 am »

I guess I should have posted this a while back, but I just haven’t gotten around to it, until now. There have been a few posts on this subject in Roadmap to 1.0, so maybe that's where I should have put this, but this feature is important to me, so here goes.

In CE, I use Project Management all the time, and it really is of big help. At the moment, I work as a developer on a large project, with lots and lots of source files of different types, and they are found in a number of directories. The path to the files does not normally change, so the current version in CE does it for me – at least at the moment. However, the enhancements dsvick suggested in Roadmap to 1.0 (things like adding properties to the project such as a default directory that gets synched when you open the project; toolbars that are in view when the project is opened; maybe a default syntax type for all unrecognized file types...), would make it all the much better. What would also be cool, was if one could add properties to members in a project; for instance a short description of a member.

As you may have noticed, in CE, the information about the projects are kept in xml files, and I really can't see any reason why this shouldn't be so in EE as well. I have found that it is quite easy to modify the path to the files manually (using CE, of course Grin) if they are moved to a different location; this is one advantage using xml files gives you.