Emerald Editor Discussion
March 26, 2017, 12:34:29 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: C or C/C++ or C++  (Read 17317 times)
alpha
Developers
Senior Miner

« on: April 28, 2006, 12:32:20 am »

It looks like most people want to use C/C++, but now the question is do we want to use both c and c++ or just c++? What about OOA and OOD if we use C++ with OOP.
Should we talk about design patterns? What about a class model?

Markus Schulz
Arantor
Site Administrator
Administrator
Master Jeweller

« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2006, 12:36:55 am »

I've been quite hesitant to put my foot into either camp specifically, and have tended to label it just "C/C++" for now, to represent the entire C community.

I'm still learning C++ at the moment, so I'm not exactly the best person to ask. If we start getting into the realms of C++, we will almost certainly look at object-oriented programming methodologies, but a lot of the code I've written before was not OOP type code, not even the Visual Basic I used to write.

I get the feeling, though, that a lot of the workings of the underlying technologies (Scintilla, wxWidgets) work more effectively in a C++ context.

"Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult!"
Derek Parnell
Lead Architect
Miner

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2006, 01:46:56 am »

Just to mix it up a bit, I would like to consider using the D programming language.  

http://www.digitalmars.com/d/

There are a number of very active news groups ...
  nttp://news.digitalmars.com

In short, D is like C++ but without the productivity-sapping features. It is almost as fast without special tweaks and can be just as fast if you want it to be. The code is just so much simplier to read and write and it has unittest and design-by-contract functionality built-in.