Emerald Editor Discussion
March 29, 2017, 12:12:46 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Plug-in ability  (Read 21070 times)
ce2000
Miner

« on: May 24, 2006, 06:45:04 am »

since the devs might not want to put all the suggestions into the main app, maybe there could be a plugin feature that would add on to the existing core app.

feel free to put it off until later on, when EE is rocking Smiley

daemon
Developers
Gem Cutter

« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2006, 04:08:28 am »

I think plugins will definitely be done (though maybe not for 1.0). But I have no experience making a plugin architecture in C++/Java so hopefully we'll get somebody who does, or I'll do some research.
Arantor
Site Administrator
Administrator
Master Jeweller

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2006, 01:58:50 pm »

Well, a plug-in architecture has been on the cards for some time, although I'm not sure how.

C/Java is a possibility but I think the bulk of the plug-in people would prefer something like Lua, which does seem to make sense after all. My only concern is package bloat - it'll get bigger if we add something like that in. But I think it is a very important feature to include, because it allows so much other stuff to happen.

In fact, it may be that we write a number of the core features as "pre-included" plugins, so to speak, using Lua or whatever. But I really couldn't say at this stage, since getting a core app is much more of the priority, but it is on the back-burners - I know alpha and myself have been considering it elsewhere in the forum.

"Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult!"
awmyhr
Senior Miner

Maintainer of Obscure and Unused Ports

« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2006, 03:55:29 pm »

Quote from: Arantor